How to Find the Ancestral Sword in WoW Classic Season of Discovery

Calling all warriors and adventurers in World of Warcraft Classic Season of Discovery! The powerful Ancestral Sword awaits in Phase 2, and this guide will equip you with everything you need to claim it.

How to Find the Ancestral Sword in WoW Classic Season of Discovery


The Scarlet Monastery, a sprawling complex of dungeons within Tirisfal Glades (Eastern Kingdoms’ northern region), is your target. This end-game location offers a variety of wings, ranging from the chilling Graveyard to the lore-rich Libraries. Dungeons here cater to level 25-45 players, making it a prime spot to farm top-tier loot during phase two.

Enemy Encounters

The good news: you don’t have to delve into every dungeon section. The Ancestral Sword can be obtained by defeating various Scarlet Crusade enemies both inside and outside the Scarlet Monastery. However, this is an end-game zone, so ensure you meet the recommended level or have a party to tackle the formidable Scarlet foes.

Here’s a list of Scarlet Monastery mobs confirmed to drop the Ancestral Sword:

  • Scarlet Diviner
  • Scarlet Gallant
  • Scarlet Scryer
  • Scarlet Adept
  • Scarlet Chaplain
  • Scarlet Monk
  • Scarlet Beastmaster
  • Scarlet Sentry
  • Scarlet Soldier
Ancestral Sword WoW Classic
Image via Wowheada

While most of these mobs can potentially drop the sword, bosses are excluded. The drop rate itself is on the lower side, so be prepared for multiple runs. Don’t get discouraged!

The Scarlet Monastery offers more than just the Ancestral Sword. Priests seeking the potent Rune Pain Suppression will find it here, and a treasure trove of Skill Books awaits to enhance your character’s abilities. Regularly running these dungeons is highly recommended!

So, gear up, assemble your party (if needed), and delve into the Scarlet Monastery! The Ancestral Sword awaits worthy heroes.

About WoW Classic

WoW Classic is a faithful recreation of the original World of Warcraft experience, before the introduction of expansions. Launched in 2019, it allows players to revisit the game’s roots, complete with the original level cap of 60, the absence of expansion content, and faithfully replicated gameplay mechanics. While some modern interface improvements and bug fixes from later expansions are included, the core Classic experience remains intact.